Cause I can’t get it through customs…

For those of you who follow me on Plurk you know that quite often I post pictures and recipes as I am cooking. My good friend Winter and I were having a conversation last week about what I was planning on cooking this Wednesday night. You see, every Wednesday night myself and a slew of my girlfriends pile into my house, drink loads of mascato, eat dinner and have a great time. Every week it alternates who cooks. My friends rearranged the entire schedule of cooking so I would have the Wednesday after Thanksgiving because that means… Turkey Pot Pies. Winter immediately announced that they have no such thing in Australia and demanded promptly that I make one and send it to him. Pretty stinking impossible of a demand.. FRIEND. So, the next best thing I can do is a very DETAILED recipe for him so he can make one himself! If he can find a turkey in Australia… do they have them there? I don’t think wombat pot pie would taste quite the same.

The Ingredients:

For the crust:

2 2/3 cup flour

2 tablespoons sugar

1 1/4 teaspoon salt

2 1/4 stick butter (Thats REAL butter folks!)

1/2 cup ice water

For the filling:

2 tablespoons butter

1 onion, chopped

2 carrots, chopped

6 tablespoons parsley, fresh and chopped

1 tablespoon oregano, fresh and chopped

2 cups chicken stock

2 potatos cubes

1 1/2 cup precooked turkey chopped

3 tablespoons flour

1/2 cup milk

Okay! Here comes the pictures! Cause we all know guys do better with pictures! Keep in mind I was making SIX pot pies and the above ingredients are only for one. So if it looks like I have a WHOLE lot of stuff going on… it’s cause I had a WHOLE lot of stuff going on!

First.. chop up your veggies

2013-12-04 15.49.15

Add the flour, sugar, and salt into a bowl and mix that around. Drop the pieces of butter in like so.. (the butter has to be soft, seriously) and make sure it’s REAL butter. None of that filthy margarine stuffs..

2013-12-04 16.02.19

Using a pastry knife or a fork will work smoosh, yes.. I said SMOOSH the butter pieces into the flour mixture. You’ll see them start to form little balls like this!

2013-12-04 16.08.35

Eventually, all the flour mixture will blend in together and you’ll have a whole bunch of lumps. This is where the ice water comes in. And listen to me when I say this. Ice. Water. I dont know why it doesn’t work with room temperature water I just know it doesn’t.

2013-12-04 16.04.59

See! ICE water. It’s important! Anywho, sprinkle the water into the mixture while forking it around the bowl. (I said forking, I know.) Eventually after a few rounds of that you’ll get this!

2013-12-04 16.12.06

Woo! Fancy! Time to roll it out! Do I need to explain this? It’s pretty simple. Split it in half though. You’ll need the other half for the top part of the crust.

2013-12-04 16.17.30

Before putting into the pie pan I like to roll the crust up like so.. but some people have the talent to just pick it up and go. I am not one of those people.

2013-12-04 16.18.07

Now this is gonna be a little embarrassing but I am gonna bust myself out because this is going to happen to you. My first run is always awful. I never add enough water and it just falls apart on me. Then I end up piecing it together because well.. it’s the bottom and no one is gonna see it anyways!

2013-12-04 16.23.53

See? I fail at life. But the good news is it gets easier! And I don’t fail at it ALL the time! See!

2013-12-04 16.42.53

Trim off the edges and set it to the side. Time to start cooking the filling! Make sure you preheat your oven to 425 degrees, I have no idea how you guys do it in other parts of the world so just do your own conversions! In a pan add the butter. I also throw a little garlic into mine because.. welp.. Italian… I can’t help it!

2013-12-04 16.47.49

Add all the veggies except the potatos and add the spices. I add salt and pepper to mine but a lot of people like to leave it out so I didnt add it to the list above.

2013-12-04 16.52.00

When all of the onions and celery turn clear add the chicken stock and potatos.

2013-12-04 16.58.35

2013-12-04 17.00.01

You’re gonna want to let this boil until the potatos and carrots are soft but still firm. But while this is happening chop up the turkey!

2013-12-04 17.14.34

Are your potatos and carrots soft? Great! Now it’s RUE time! Now the rue is serious business. ALL this work will be for nothing if you mess up the rue so pay attention! Are you paying attention? Undivided attention? mmkay.. butter.. throw some in a pan. Remember I am making SIX pies so don’t toss a whole stick in like me. Just two or three tablespoons.

2013-12-04 17.26.48

After it melts add the turkey

2013-12-04 17.28.49

Let the turkey cook in there for a few minutes so it’ll come up to temperature. Then add in the flour. Sprinkle the flour!

2013-12-04 17.31.38

You’re gonna have to let this cook for a few minutes. It’s tricky to know when it’s done. I’ve no idea actually how I do it, I just know. If you add the milk in too soon it stops the flour from cooking and then it tastes chalky and that’s no fun. Anywho, don’t add the milk too soon! It’ll be BAD and you’ll mess up the rue and mess up the whole pie! Don’t suck at life!

2013-12-04 17.34.18

When this is done add it to the veggie mixture. Then immediately remove it from the heat. It’s gonna start to thicken almost instantly and I don’t want you to burn it. So as soon as you stir it in just remove it.

2013-12-04 17.37.00

2013-12-04 17.38.31

Now add the mixture to your pie crust. Make sure you leave room at the top. If you don’t it’ll over flow.

2013-12-04 17.48.45

Sprinkle more of the ice water over the remaining half of the crust to moisten it back up. And repeat from above.

2013-12-04 17.49.28

See! It gets easier as you do it.. and this is the part everyone sees so if you screw this up ball it all back up and start over. You probably haven’t added enough ice water. Dont try to piece this mess together. I say nay nay to ugly pie crusts! Oh, and don’t forget to slice in some vents in the top.

2013-12-04 17.50.32

Bake for an hour or until the crust is a pretty golden brown. Then remove from the over and let it settle for ten minutes before cutting it open!

2013-12-04 18.58.09

And before any of you say anything about me not making a pretty or decorative ring with the crust.. My name is Shae Sixpence not freaking Better Crocker! I was making six of these blasted things. Ain’t no body got time for all that mess!

I forgot to take a picture of a piece on a plate for you because I got ran out of the kitchen my a horde of people screaming “POT PIE” but I was able to snap the last two pieces that were left in the very last pie before someone snatched them up.

2013-12-04 21.17.04

So, there ya go. My pot pies. It was hell trying to manage three different pots while taking pictures so I hope you’re happy Jefferson! And Lyrical I am sorry I lied to you and didn’t post last night. I was worn out and welp.. mascato…

Disclaimer: If you aren’t on my Plurk there is probably a very good reason for it. But please don’t flood me with Plurk friend requests if I don’t know you. My Plurk timeline is extremely small and I like it that way. If you’ve never said a word to me in our SLife I am probably going to ignore it. That mess is what Facebook is for! Happy Holidays!

3 thoughts on “Cause I can’t get it through customs…

Leave a Reply

